Articles of Faith


What are the 12 articles of faith?


The 12 articles of the faith is another name for the The Apostles' Creed and includes:

1. I believe in God the Father, Almighty, Maker of heaven and earth;
2. And in Jesus Christ, his only begotten Son, our Lord;
3. Who was conceived by the Holy Ghost, born of the Virgin Mary;
4. Suffered under Pontius Pilate; was crucified, dead and buried; He descended into hell;
5. The third day he rose again from the dead;
6. He ascended into heaven, and sits at the right hand of God the Father Almighty,
7. From thence he shall come to judge the quick and the dead.
8. I believe in the Holy Ghost;
9. I believe in the holy catholic church; the communion of saints;
10. The forgiveness of sins;
11. The resurrection of the body;
12. And the life everlasting. Amen.

You also may be interested in our lessons on The Apostles' Creed

Answer by Dr. Joseph R. Nally, Jr.

Dr. Joseph R. Nally, Jr., D.D., M.Div. is the Theological Editor at Third Millennium Ministries (Thirdmill).