What books of the Bible do Roman Catholics accept that Protestants do not?


The Roman Catholic Church accepts as authoritative the following books:

Old Testament
Genesis, Exodus, Leviticus, Numbers, Deuteronomy, Joshua, Judges, Ruth, 1 & 2 Samuel, 1 & 2 Kings, 1 & 2 Chronicles, Ezra, Nehemiah, Tobit, Judith, Esther, 1 & 2 Maccabees, Job, Psalms, Proverbs, Ecclesiastes, Song of Songs (a.k.a. Canticles or Song of Solomon), Wisdom, Sirach (a.k.a. Ecclesiasticus), Isaiah, Jeremiah, Lamentations, Baruch, Ezekiel, Daniel, Hosea, Joel, Amos, Obadiah, Jonah, Micah, Nahum, Habakkuk, Zephaniah, Haggai, Zechariah, Malachi.

New Testament
Matthew, Mark, Luke, John, Acts, Romans, 1 & 2 Corinthians, Galatians, Ephesians, Philippians, Colossians, 1 & 2 Thessalonians, 1 & 2 Timothy, Titus, Philemon, Hebrews, James, 1 & 2 Peter, 1 & 2 & 3 John, Jude, Revelation.

Seven of the books the Roman Catholic Church accepts in the Old Testament, as well as additions to two others, are not accepted by Protestants, and were not officially included in the Roman Catholic Canon until the Council of Trent (16th century). These books, often called "deuterocanonical" by the Roman Catholic Church, are: Tobit, Judith, 1 & 2 Maccabees, Wisdom, Sirach, and Baruch. The deuterocanonical additions are found in Esther and Daniel.

Answer by Ra McLaughlin

Ra McLaughlin is Vice President of Finance and Administration at Third Millennium Ministries.